2023 Colorado Journalist of the Year demonstrates sophistication


Katie Fisher walking freshman sports writer Jacob Swanson through edits.

Senior Katie Fisher at Grandview High School was named the Colorado Student Media Association Dorothy Greer Scholarship winner for 2023. She will receive a $3,000 college scholarship as she moves on to her next endeavors. 

One judge wrote that “Katie’s portfolio features stories that are both high interest to her student audience, and possess a seasoned reporter’s sophistication in digging to the core of her topics. The depth of story detail illustrates her strong interviewing skills that set her features and narratives apart from her scholastic journalism peers.”

Her portfolio is being forwarded to the Journalism Education Association Student Journalist of the Year competition, where she will compete with winners from other states for the title of National Student Journalist of the Year. The winner and finalists will be announced at the conclusion of the virtual JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention. 

Runner up in the competition is Maya Dawson, senior at Conifer High School, and she will receive a $1500 scholarship. One judge mentioned, “She has pursued multiple opportunities outside of school to acquire and develop her skills, including an internship with Colorado Community Media, where she published some of the works in her portfolio. Her essay also reflects the challenges of leadership she faced after returning to in-school classes after the initial days of the pandemic and her creating new systems of organization and leadership to revive the school’s journalism program.” 

Congratulations to our Dorothy Greer winner and runner-up.