Navigate Left
Navigate Right


Stay informed about state, national student media initiatives

January 17, 2020

Here is the link to the House bill that proposes to amend our Colorado Student Freedom of Expression statute (1990). Here is the link to the report from the Media Literacy Committee which was mandated by legislation in the 2019 state legislative session. Here is the link to a survey asking about content/competencies for prospective journalism teachers, led by the National Advisory Committee (NAC)...

Continue Reading

January 6, 2020

Ken Fuson would have written this better. He would have found a hook, a way to summarize the depth and breadth of his life’s adventures in a single, poignant sentence that would grab a reader by the heart and bring them along for a story the way no other could. But Fuson is gone. He died Friday from complications of liver disease at the Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha. He was 63. “Ken was an extraordinarily gifted storyteller,” said Randy Evans, a retired Register opinion...

Continue Reading
Candidates for 2019-21 CSMA executive board positions announced

October 14, 2019

The executive board that takes office as of the Dec. 7 board meeting will lead CSMA for two years, which will include a transition to a new executive director in the summer of 2020. The candidates on the ballot have generously agreed to give of their time and talents and we invite you to read their bio's and their candidate statements prior to the voting "window" opening on Nov. 1. Each adviser...

Continue Reading
View All
View All
Share your news!
Fill out my online form.
Advising resources here!
Terrific package from JEA on suicide reporting, prevention
Press Law & Ethics Certified Advisers

Angela Banfield, CJE, Odyssey ECCO
Zeb Carabello, Rangeview HS
Gina Claus, Castle Rock MS
Justin Daigle, CJE, Brighton HS
Carrie Hendrix, CJE, Lewis-Palmer HS
Kalilah Herscovici, formerly Chaparral HS
Kelly Johnson, CJE, Delta HS
Jill Jones, formerly Windsor HS
Bonnie Katzive, Monarch HS
Yvette Manculich, CJE, Powell MS
Tracy Marcello, formerly Fossil Ridge HS
Adrienne Marko, Dakota Ridge HS
Alyson Mazza, formerly Rock Canyon HS
Ellie Norwood, CJE, Arvada West HS
Tom Patrick, Palmer Ridge HS
Kristi Rathbun, MJE, Rock Canyon HS

Our archives
Tips every new reporter should know
Looking for a ready-to-use lesson plan?
We’re in the news
Grid and typography ideas

Grid and typography ideas

November 17, 2016

Colorado student media programs honored by NSPA at national convention

Colorado student media programs honored by NSPA at national convention

November 14, 2016

Our First Amendment test is here. We can’t afford to flunk it.

Our First Amendment test is here. We can’t afford to flunk it.

November 14, 2016

View All
Colorado Student Media Association
Colorado Student Media Association