All-Colorado History of Awards

A quick recap
The All-Colorado Awards grow from our All-Colorado Critique service, which began in the summer of 2011 (the first website critiques were offered in 2012). Printed materials are mailed to judges across the country, and links are shared for online (including hybrid) and video. The critique cost is included in CSMA membership.

Judges are asked to assign an overall rating to each medium judged, and school size or classification are not considered. The theory is that the standards are the standards, and that any size school can reach those standards.

The top rating is All-Colorado, with the Award of Commendation being given the next tier of entries, and the Award of Merit assigned to the third tier. Every student medium that enters receives an award certificate, with the distribution during the J-Day awards ceremony each fall.

Award history
Here is a downloadable Excel spreadsheet that lists all critique ratings through 2019, sorted by medium and school. You will find five tabs at the bottom of the spreadsheet, corresponding to each of the four media critiqued: printed news publication, yearbook, video broadcast, online-only, and hybrid.

CSMA Hall of Fame members – through 2020

Media are inducted into the Hall of Fame upon earning an All-Colorado rating in our annual critiques for 6 of 7 consecutive years. The Hall of Fame was established in 2017, and the critiques began in 2011 (websites/online only in 2012, hybrid news in 2019).

Print News Publications
Fort Collins HS, Spilled Ink (2017)
Mountain Vista HS, The Eagle Eye (2017)
Rocky Mountain HS, The Rocky Mountain Highlighter (2017)
Standley Lake HS, The Lake (2017)

Video Broadcast
Academy School District 20, 20TV (2017)
Rampart High School, KRAM (2021)

Arapahoe HS, Calumet (2017)
Brighton HS, Reflections (2017)
Castle View HS, Vieo (2017)
Chaparral HS, Golden Images (2020)
Legend HS, Epic (2017)
Lewis-Palmer HS, Westwind (2017)
Overland HS, Trail (2017)
Ponderosa HS, Eques (2018)
Powell MS, The Prowl (2017)
Rock Canyon HS, The Black & Gold (2017)
Rocky Heights MS, The Nighthawk (2019)
Sierra MS, Eagle Eye View (2017)
Smoky Hill HS, Summit (2017)


Activate Search
All-Colorado History of Awards