Adviser of the Year

If you wish to nominate a media adviser for the CSMA Adviser of the Year Award, the Adviser of the Year nomination form is here. Please note: the deadline for nominations is June 30. All nominations must be made through our online form. This form includes an opportunity to upload one letter of recommendation, but this is optional for the initial nomination.

Every year the Colorado Student Media Association acknowledges its outstanding newspaper, yearbook and video media and website advisers by selecting one teacher to be CSMA’s Adviser of the Year. Teachers/advisers may be nominated by their principal, a colleague or editor.

You may find a complete list of our past honorees on this page.

Upon nomination, nominated advisers will receive a questionnaire to complete and return to CSMA by a designated date. Completed packages (nomination materials and questionnaire, plus support letters) are submitted to a panel of judges.

The following criteria are taken into consideration by judges for deciding a winner:

The adviser must be:

  • An effective educator in the field of journalism and/or publications
  • A quality journalism promoter as shown by participation in state and/or national journalism organizations
  • An adviser whose publications have been recognized by honors and awards given collectively or to individuals on their staff
  • An adviser to at least one member of the Colorado Student Meda Association

Our state winner will be recognized as part of the opening ceremonies during Journalism Day at Colorado State University in Fort Collins in October. The state winner may be submitted to the Journalism Education Association for consideration in the JEA National Yearbook Adviser of the Year competition, the JEA National Broadcast Adviser of the Year competition, or to the Dow Jones News Fund for consideration in its National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year program.

Activate Search
Adviser of the Year