Colorado Student Media Association

CSMA

Programs honored for consistent excellence

First inductees into All-Colorado Hall of Fame to be presented at J-Day

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






Fifteen student media programs from across the state have been announced as the first inductees into the Colorado Student Media Association All-Colorado Hall of Fame.

 

To qualify for the Hall of Fame, a student medium must earn the highest rating (All-Colorado) from the annual summer critique program for six of seven consecutive years. The Hall of Fame awards seek to recognize consistency of excellence over time, in an era when time in service as teachers and advisers is declining, and when student media faces a wide range of challenges.

Awards are given to four classifications of student media – print news publication, yearbook, news website, and video media – and size of school and size of the student staff are not considered. In fact, the initial class of honorees includes two middle school yearbook programs. Programs are rated by journalism experts from across the country.

The critiques also focus on narrative comments regarding all aspects of journalism, and programs use the comments to continually improve their performance.

CSMA began its summer critique program in 2011, so this is the seventh year of the All-Colorado awards.

All 15 programs will be honored at the state journalism conference, on Oct. 19 in the Lory Student Center on the campus of Colorado State University in Fort Collins. The conference, better known as J-Day, will bring 1,400 students and advisers to campus for 50 learning sessions, in addition to the awards being presented.

For more information on the Hall of Fame program or J-Day, contact Jack Kennedy, CSMA executive director.

The complete list of Hall of Fame media programs is below.

All-Colorado Hall of Fame – Class of 2017

Yearbook (10)
Arapahoe HS Calumet – adviser Greg Anderson – ganderson@lps.k12.co.us
Brighton HS Reflections – adviser Justin Daigle, CJE – jdaigle@sd27j.org
Castle View HS Vieo – adviser Jessica Hunziker, CJE – jessica.hunziker@dcsdk12.org
Legend HS Epic – adviser Anastasia Harrison, CJE – amharrison@dcsdk12.org
Lewis-Palmer HS Westwind – adviser Carrie Hendrix, CJE – chendrix@lewispalmer.org
Overland HS Trail – adviser Danny Barocas, CJE – dbarocas2@cherrycreekschools.org
Powell MS The Prowl – adviser Yvette Manculich – ymanculich@lps.k12.co.us
Rock Canyon HS The Black & Gold – adviser Kristi Rathbun, CJE – kristi.rathbun@dcsdk12.org
Sierra MS Eagle Eye View – adviser Jed Palmer, CJE – jed.palmer@dcsdk12.org
Smoky Hill HS Summit – adviser Carrie Faust, MJE – cfaust@cherrycreekschools.org

Print News Publication (4)
Fort Collins HS Spilled Ink – adviser Anne Colwell – acolwell@psdschools.org
Mountain Vista HS The Eagle Eye – adviser Mark Newton, MJE – mark.newton@dcsdk12.org
Rocky Mountain HS The Rocky Mountain Highlighter – adviser Amy White – amwhite@psdschools.org
Standley Lake HS The Lake – adviser Lynn Schwartz – laschwar@jeffco.k12.co.us

Video Media (1)
Academy School District 20 20TV – adviser Cory Morlock – cory.morlock@asd20.org

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Navigate Right
Navigate Left
  • Programs honored for consistent excellence

    CSMA Events, Contests, Scholarship News

    Registration deadline for J-Day (and Best of Show) is Oct. 12

  • Programs honored for consistent excellence

    Contests

    Support the Five Freedoms with our fall First Amendment Contest

  • Programs honored for consistent excellence

    Advisers Only

    CSMA will pay your JEA testing fees

  • Programs honored for consistent excellence

    Awards and Scholarships

    Top individual journalists honored

  • Programs honored for consistent excellence

    Advisers Only

    Meet the candidates for CSMA leadership positions

  • Programs honored for consistent excellence

    CSMA Events, Contests, Scholarship News

    Greer, Benson Scholarship winners named

  • Programs honored for consistent excellence

    Capitol Hill Press Conference

    Capitol Hill reporting winners announced

  • Programs honored for consistent excellence

    CSMA Events, Contests, Scholarship News

    Three media programs honored for FEARless reporting

  • Programs honored for consistent excellence

    CSMA Events, Contests, Scholarship News

    Winter Thaw focuses on journalistic ethics

  • Programs honored for consistent excellence

    Capitol Hill Press Conference

    Register now for our annual Capitol Hill Press Conference

Colorado Student Media Association
Programs honored for consistent excellence