Programs honored for consistent excellence

First inductees into All-Colorado Hall of Fame to be presented at J-Day


Fifteen student media programs from across the state have been announced as the first inductees into the Colorado Student Media Association All-Colorado Hall of Fame.


To qualify for the Hall of Fame, a student medium must earn the highest rating (All-Colorado) from the annual summer critique program for six of seven consecutive years. The Hall of Fame awards seek to recognize consistency of excellence over time, in an era when time in service as teachers and advisers is declining, and when student media faces a wide range of challenges.

Awards are given to four classifications of student media – print news publication, yearbook, news website, and video media – and size of school and size of the student staff are not considered. In fact, the initial class of honorees includes two middle school yearbook programs. Programs are rated by journalism experts from across the country.

The critiques also focus on narrative comments regarding all aspects of journalism, and programs use the comments to continually improve their performance.

CSMA began its summer critique program in 2011, so this is the seventh year of the All-Colorado awards.

All 15 programs will be honored at the state journalism conference, on Oct. 19 in the Lory Student Center on the campus of Colorado State University in Fort Collins. The conference, better known as J-Day, will bring 1,400 students and advisers to campus for 50 learning sessions, in addition to the awards being presented.

For more information on the Hall of Fame program or J-Day, contact Jack Kennedy, CSMA executive director.

The complete list of Hall of Fame media programs is below.

All-Colorado Hall of Fame – Class of 2017

Yearbook (10)
Arapahoe HS Calumet – adviser Greg Anderson – [email protected]
Brighton HS Reflections – adviser Justin Daigle, CJE – [email protected]
Castle View HS Vieo – adviser Jessica Hunziker, CJE – [email protected]
Legend HS Epic – adviser Anastasia Harrison, CJE – [email protected]
Lewis-Palmer HS Westwind – adviser Carrie Hendrix, CJE – [email protected]
Overland HS Trail – adviser Danny Barocas, CJE – [email protected]
Powell MS The Prowl – adviser Yvette Manculich – [email protected]
Rock Canyon HS The Black & Gold – adviser Kristi Rathbun, CJE – [email protected]
Sierra MS Eagle Eye View – adviser Jed Palmer, CJE – [email protected]
Smoky Hill HS Summit – adviser Carrie Faust, MJE – [email protected]

Print News Publication (4)
Fort Collins HS Spilled Ink – adviser Anne Colwell – [email protected]
Mountain Vista HS The Eagle Eye – adviser Mark Newton, MJE – [email protected]
Rocky Mountain HS The Rocky Mountain Highlighter – adviser Amy White – [email protected]
Standley Lake HS The Lake – adviser Lynn Schwartz – [email protected]

Video Media (1)
Academy School District 20 20TV – adviser Cory Morlock – [email protected]